Global Columbia Collaboratory | Future of Cities: Rethinking Urban Sustainability

This event will take place virtually at 7am PST/10am EST/8:30pm IST/11pm CST. Not in these time zones? Check your time zone.

Today, almost 56% of the world’s population live in urban habitats. As the rate of urbanization continues to grow, urban communities and areas beyond will be deeply affected by conditions such as climate change and weather-related disasters, poor air quality, water scarcity, disappearing biodiversity, and excessive waste

This Columbia Global Centers webinar, part of the Global Columbia Collaboratory, will discuss:

  • What are cities' capacity to implement a green recovery?

  • What is the potential of emerging forms of multilateral, multilevel, and multi-stakeholder partnerships?

Our panel of experts will engage with the latest models and theories for promoting sustainable cities, offering perspectives from design and planning, engineering, technology, and governance.

This global webinar is part of the Global Columbia Collaboratory, a program for undergraduate students launched in Summer 2020. The program is designed to give students the skills, understanding, and networks to grow into the leaders our world needs–to thoughtfully address our increasingly complex challenges. In addition to global online seminars that allow them to learn from faculty and experts drawn from around the world, students engage in facilitated reflections to consider how global challenges have affected communities, and they have the opportunity to generate ideas and design and implement collaborative projects centered on concrete solutions.

WHEN
February 11, 2021 at 7am - 8:30am
WHERE

Online - Zoom

TICKETS